2.5 Character Class

Characters seek relics, glory, justice, face, power, knowledge, or perhaps other goals – some noble and some base. Each chooses a different way to achieve those goals, from brutal combat power, to stealth and skullduggery, to mastery of Ancient technologies. Some characters prevail and grow in experience, wealth, and power. Others die.

Each Scorched Earth character has a class. Your character’s class is his profession or vocation. It determines what he is able to do: Attribute check modifiers, combat training, special abilities, and more. Enforcers, outlanders, scavengers, and savants represent basic archetypes from the post-apocalyptic genre:

  • Enforcer: Possess exceptional combat capability and skill with weapons.
  • Outlander: A master of survival and skilled hunter of the wilds.
  • Scavenger: A scoundrel and sneak who survives by stealth rather than brute force.
  • Savant: Focus on mental superiority instead of physical development.

See each class page for details.

Class Descriptions:

For every class, you’ll first find a general discussion in ‘game world’ terms, the sort of description that characters in the campaign setting could understand and the way such a character might describe himself. Individual characters of a class may differ in their attitudes, outlooks, and other aspects.

Game Rule Information:

Following the general class description comes game rule information.

Class Attribute(s): This entry tells you which Attributes are most important for a character of that class. One of the character’s Primes must match the class Attribute for his class (or one of the class Attributes, in the case of the savant).

For each class level, you will receive a +1 bonus on Attribute checks for your class Attribute. For every two levels, you will receive a +1 bonus on all other Attribute checks.

You are welcome to ‘play against type’, but a typical character of that class will have his highest Attribute scores where they’ll do the most good (or, in game world terms, be attracted to the class for which he is best qualified).

Hit Points: You add the value given for each class level to your character’s hit point total. These are in addition to your base hit points. For most characters, your base hit points will be equal to your Endurance Attribute score, though some mutations may change this.

Luck Points: This is the number of Luck Points that your character gains per class level. You add your Luck modifier to this number.

Weapons & Armour: This entry indicates which weapons and armour types your character is proficient with. Each proficiency lets you use that type of weapon or armour in combat without penalty. Weapons are classified as Simple Weapons, Improvised Weapons, Martial Weapons, or Exotic Weapons. (You need ‘Retro-Tech’ to become proficient with Firearms and ‘Advanced-Tech’ for Blasters.) Armour types are designated as Light Armour, Medium Armour, or Heavy Armour.

Combat Ability: Apply the bonuses given (if any) to attack rolls and your character’s Defense score.

Special Abilities:

Each class has certain special abilities that are described in this section. Some classes, such as enforcers, have few. Others, such as thinkers, have many. These special abilities are unique to members of a given class and cannot be used by others.


%d bloggers like this: